Book review: ‘Silenced’ by Dani Pettrey

From the back cover:

A relaxing day of rock climbing takes a disturbing turn when Kayden McKenna’s route brings her face-to-face with a dead climber. Is it a terrible accident or something darker? When the case is handed to overburdened sheriff Landon Grainger, he turns to Jake Westin for help. With Jake’s past now revealed, he’s ready to use his talent for investigation again–but he could never prepare for where the mystery will take him.
Kayden’s climbing expertise soon leads her and Jake to the realization that the death was no accident. And worse, it seems the killer is onto them. When strange things begin happening in Yancey, Jake is terrified that once again his world may put someone he loves in danger. But the truth is far worse than he could ever imagine.

My review:

This is now the second book I have read in the Alaskan Courage series by Dani Pettrey (see my review of Stranded here). As I mentioned in my earlier review, I recommend reading this series from the start, as there was a lot of back story I missed by reading only the third and fourth books.

Silenced begins with a murder mystery, as Kayden McKenna finds a dead rock climber and immediately suspects foul play. With her climbing expertise, she is the logical choice to accompany former cop (and newly appointed deputy sheriff), Jake Westin, in his quest to find out the truth.

The book is written largely from Kayden and Jake’s point of view, although there are several passages written from the perspective of minor characters in the book. I felt that the point of view changed too frequently, often due to very short scenes, and I got confused as to whose head I was in at times. I think this was the main reason why I didn’t feel as invested in the characters as I could have been. The other thing that bothered me was the inefficiency of Kayden and Jake’s interviewing technique – meaning they had to visit/revisit suspects because they didn’t ask the right questions first time around (although I guess the book would have been too short if they got all their answers straight away).

Throughout the book, Kayden has to come to terms with her fear of letting anyone get close to her, and her fear of dying. It was nice to see her heart warm to Jake throughout their investigation, and his protectiveness was touching. I particularly enjoyed the last third of the book, when Jake’s past catches up with him and Kayden’s life is on the line – this part of the story was very suspenseful.

Overall, I did enjoy reading this book, although I’m not sure whether I would read the next book in the series.

Thank you, NetGalley and Bethany House Publishers for providing me a free copy of this book  in exchange for my honest opinion.

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

To see my ratings system, click here

Leave a comment

