Book review: ‘The Beloved Daughter’ by Alana Terry

A few months ago I interviewed Christian fiction author, Alana Terry (click here). Alana wonderfully sent me a copy of her book, The Beloved Daughter, and over Christmas I finally had the opportunity to read it. I was absolutely blown away!

Alana Terry book coverFrom the back cover:

In a small North Korean village, a young girl struggles to survive. It is  her father’s faith, not the famine of North Hamyong Province, that most  threatens Chung-Cha’s well-being.

The Beloved Daughter follows Chung-Cha into one of the most notorious prison camps the  contemporary free world has known. Her crime? Being the daughter of a  Christian.

My review:

This book completely opened my eyes to the persecution of Christians in other countries, such as North Korea. The story of Chung-Cha was tragic, as well as hope-inspiring. The book is written from the first-person perspective of Chung-Chain the style of a letter. I found out several chapters in that it was, in fact, a letter.

The descriptions of Chung-Cha’s experiences in the prison camp were gritty and horrifying. Most people would find the events that happen to Chung-Cha and others in the camp to be very disturbing – how could humans do such brutal things to one another? It is a story of great evil, but also the power of the love of Christ that brings light in the darkness.

Alana did a terrific job with telling this story. Each chapter of this book has a different theme, linked to a verse in the Bible, which worked really well. I felt emotionally connected with the characters in the story and, being a mother, I was sobbing by the end of the book. The story was so powerful.

The only down-side I see with this book is that some readers may find the descriptions of the sexual depravity in the prison camp very confronting. I think Alana has dealt with this difficult topic sensitively, however, I wouldn’t recommend this book to younger readers for this reason.

My rating:

5 out of 5 stars

To see my ratings system, click here

I’m pleased to announce that Alana has a second book coming out in this inspirational suspense series – Slave Again.

She escaped a North Korean prison camp only to find herself enslaved again.

Mee-Kyong endured a childhood fending for herself in a North
Korean prison camp. When she finally flees across the border into China, Mee-Kyong must draw upon all her survival skills. Does Mee-Kyong have the cunning she needs to escape the world of abuse and shame into which she’s been sold? Can she manage to save both herself and the innocent child under her protection?

About the Author:  Alana Terry is a homeschool mom, pastor’s wife, and Christian author. Her debut novel, The Beloved Daughter, has won awards from Women of Faith and the Book Club Network. The Beloved Daughter was a number one bestseller in Christian suspense on amazon. Her next novel, Slave Again, is due out this summer.

Giveaway Time! Alana is giving away free copies of her next release to anyone who makes a donation to Liberty in North Korea, an organization dedicated to rescuing refugees who escape North Korea. She’s also giving away a mini kobo e-reader and several copies of Slave Again, so be sure to enter the giveaway below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “Book review: ‘The Beloved Daughter’ by Alana Terry

  1. Hi! I was wondering what the climax of the story was. I was going to use it for a school project where we pick out a book and act it out, and this one really caught my eye. Unfortunately, we don’t have enough time to finish the book to find out that the climax may not work with the play. Great review by the way — it made me buy the book even just for pleasure reading.

    • Hi Elizabeth. I’m glad you enjoyed my review. I could imagine this would be hard to do as a school play. A lot of violence, but shows how God’s love shines even through all the hard things people face.

Leave a comment

