Interview with author Laura Jackson

Today, I’m interviewing Christian author Laura Jackson about her new book and how she became a writer.

2013-07-08 23.15.16-1 (2)Me: Hi, Laura. You must be excited, having recently published your first novel. How long has it been since you began your writing journey?

Laura: Not very long but forever, I guess. I remember writing as a kid, and I wrote some in high school for fun. I taught middle school language arts, so I wrote with my kids. When I became a librarian, I missed writing with my students. So, I started writing a book. The first attempt was so bad I quit in the middle. Worth the Wait is my second attempt.

Me: What have been the highlights and lowlights in your experience so far?

Laura: I’m new at this, so I don’t have a lot of experience. I got an early review from a reader I’ve never met. She wrote about how much the book affected her even though she’s an adult.

The worst thing is just seeing my “baby” covered in red ink from the editor. It was so discouraging for just a minute, and then I dived into it and enjoyed making it better.

Me: I can relate to that – seeing the track changes in a manuscript is disheartening, but once you get into it, it is exciting to see how much better it will be. How long did it take you to write Worth the Wait?

Laura: I wrote Worth the Wait during NaNoWriMo 2012. I did over 50,000 words that month and then added to it the next two months. The book I’m working on now is going so slowly…maybe because I was editing Worth the Wait, working on marketing, etc in addition to my fulltime job as a librarian.

Me: As a librarian, you must come across a lot of books. Do you have a favourite author/s?

E.A West: I love reading just about everything. I love the Pigeon books by Mo Willems to my library kids. Have you read them? SO FUNNY!

YA—I love Jenny B. Jones, Sarah Dessen, and Ally Carter.

Romantic Suspense—Dee Henderson, Irene Hannon, Dani Pettrey.

Chick Lit—Kristin Billerbeck, Erynn Mangum.

I could list a ton more, but those are my favorite.

Me: That is a great selection. Thanks for the tips! Can you tell us a bit more about Worth the Wait?

9781938708268Laura: Ellie Lansing has a picture-perfect life with a close-knit family and the perfect boyfriend. But her world is suddenly knocked off center when her drool-worthy boyfriend cheats, and her always-has-it-together mother is diagnosed with cancer. Ellie doesn’t get it. She always does the right thing – doesn’t God owe her a happy life? Through her heartache, Ellie learns that sometimes what seems like the end is really just the beginning and that what God has for us is always worth the wait.

Me: That sounds fantastic. I’m already hooked 🙂 What kind of readers do you think would enjoy your book?

Laura: Christian teens as well as older women. I’m 33, but I love YA. It’s always my first choice for reading although lately, a lot of it seems really dark. I hope Worth the Wait will be an encouragement to teens to wait for God’s best…not just about sex but about every aspect of their future.

Me: I’m sure it will be. I also enjoy reading YA, even though I’m in my thirties too – we must be young at heart! Now that you are out of your teenage years, looking back, what advice would you give to your teenage self?

Laura: Focus less on boys! I was boy crazy. My poor parents!

Me: A great piece of advice! I’m sooo not looking forward to when my daughters are that age. Thanks for visiting my blog today, Laura. I hope God uses your book to touch many hearts.

Laura: Thanks so much!

Author bio:

Laura Jackson loves books – reading and writing them. A life-long reader, Laura studied English in college and taught 7th grade language arts before earning her Master’s degree and becoming a school librarian. Now, she spends her days sharing great books with kids and her evenings writing books about teenage girls discovering God and His plan for their lives.

http://authorlaurajackson.blogspot.com/

Worth the Wait, a Christian YA novel, was released on 4 February 2014.

Find it on Amazon: Worth the Wait on Amazon
Find it at Barnes and Noble: Worth the Wait on BN.com

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with author Laura Jackson

Leave a comment

