Book Cover Makeover: Second Chances – Take 2

A few days ago I shared my first attempt at a book cover makeover for my Christian novella, Second Chances. Thanks to everyone who gave their feedback.

What I concluded from this exercise was:

1) The new cover was a hit, but didn’t fully capture what the story is about

2) I should definitely go ahead and change my cover.

So, I’ve been roaming the internet for images and found a picture of Hannah, so she can join Rachel on the front cover of my book. Scroll down to see what I’ve come up with…

Here is the synopsis of my book:

Even as a child, Rachel had her whole life mapped out – study teaching, marry the perfect guy, have some kids and be a stay at home mum. With two different guys after her attention, Rachel must make a choice – will she choose rebellious single dad Nate or sensible youth leader Steven?

Meanwhile, Hannah is on top of the world, engaged to be married to the love of her life, until a chance encounter with someone from her past threatens to take away her happiness. Will her relationship survive when the secret she has been keeping for so many years is uncovered?

As these best friends lean on God and each other through different trials, they both experience God’s forgiveness and his provision of second chances.

Here is the existing cover…

Second Chances - A Novella

Proposed new cover design #1

Second Chances New V4

And proposed new cover design #2

Second Chances New V8

I may still play around with the placement of the words ‘A Christian Novella’, but otherwise I’m really happy with this. Do you think it works?

Signature2

14 thoughts on “Book Cover Makeover: Second Chances – Take 2

  1. I’d go with your first (new) choice. It would be better if the two girls were in a pic together, but (for me) the separate shots don’t work so well.

  2. I’d go with your first (new) choice. It would be better if the two girls were in a pic together, but (for me) the separate shots don’t work so well.

  3. I like this cover very much. The split cover pics add depth and draw me in further, making me want to find out more about this story.The only suggestion I have would be to change the text color of the actual title. Perhaps go with an apricot or salmon pink. Something that pops. As is, the color that you have now bleeds into the pictures (especially the picture on top). It makes it look “just okay.” I think a spot of color would draw more attention to the message you are trying to convey. I think often we forget that the takeaway from a book can begin with the cover, before a page is turned. (Market research discusses colors that draw attention. Check it out.)

    I hope this helps.

    By the way, your synopsis captured my attention. I’ll be on the lookout for your book.

    All the best!

  4. I like new cover #2 because it shows how there are two main characters and not just one. Great job with your covers though! your two new ones look so great that they would really draw someone’s attention. The color of the title should probably be something other than brown because it matches her hair too much the way it is so the title doesn’t really stand out. Other than that I think that you choice #2 is great and would work wonderfully for the book!

  5. Hey Alison, Rachel looks beautiful! Already love her!

    I believe with a little more work on pic #2, it would work well. The picture appears to have a lot of white/light, and is most obvious in the face and hair of the upper model, and in the background around her head as well, which is distracting. Perhaps you could change the background color to something like oxblood, coral, or something else that would even out the brightness. And I totally agree with Kim on the change of colors for the text. If you decide on a bright color for the text, you could use a darker shade of it, or something similar for the background of the upper model.
    For Rachel’s half of the picture, there is much space to the left, and I honestly don’t think it’s best to leave it that way. You could shift the model to a central position, or put something in the space that would add flavor to the picture and help convey the genre more; like red roses that are made to look like they’re strewn all over a white floor, giving it the romance feel; or the picture of a man in a tux n black bow tie to complement Rachel’s bridal look, giving the idea that there’s drama in this story. But I advice you move the model to the center instead. And rather than have just a simple line separate the book title and your author name, use a single red rose lying horizontal, instead. It is all you need to hint that it’s a romance book. That would mean reducing the length of the text just a bit to accommodate the petals that will be positioned to the right, maybe? I think it will look lovely!
    Like I said before, it’s just my thoughts. 🙂

  6. Forgot to mention!—whatever color you choose for the title text would be nice for the ‘A Christian Novella’ text as well. Finally, I think the ‘A Christian Novella’ text should be centralized, that is, if you decide to centralize the model in the lower of the picture. Waiting to see what you choose to do! 😉

  7. I LOVE it when the person on the cover looks like the character in the story. So, naturally, having a representation of both of the main characters is a great thing in my mind. However, I feel like the 3rd cover option is more “confusing” then the 2nd. The cover and the title don’t speak to each other until you read the synopsis and unfortunately a lot of people just go by the cover of the book and never turn it around to read the book blurb. Is there a way to meld both of the pictures where they can be side by side and it wont look fake? All In all I think the pictures of both women are great, eye catching and modern. I love where you are going with the cover. I can’t wait to see which one you decide to use. 🙂

  8. I like the second new cover, but what if you put the bottom girl on top and used the open space to write second chances, and then had the top girl on bottom? I don’t know if it would work since I’m not very spatial, but might be worth trying.

  9. I really like Makeover – Take 2 because there are two main characters and to only show one was lacking. I think you did an excellent job on the design but the white background on the bottom part makes her face look washed out. So I would add a little color to the background and I also agree with changing the color of the title text. With regard to positioning the second girl, I like it the way it is. I think the asymmetry was brilliant!

Leave a comment

