Book Cover Makeover: Second Chances

Hi everyone,

For a while I’ve known that the cover for my first book, Second Chances, is not really up to the same quality as professional covers. I also didn’t feel that my book cover gave people a good idea of what they can expect to see inside my book.

I’ve been thinking about re-designing my book cover for several months now, and I’ve been searching stock image sites and pre-made book covers for something that jumps out at me. Given my book is about two young women who are best friends, I was trying to find an image that included two females, except none of them were appropriate (in more ways than one).

Thankfully, this morning I was browsing a website gallery showing book cover designs and I found Rachel, one of the main characters in my book (well, what I imagine she looks like). I quickly purchased the image and made some minor changes in Photoshop … and voila! I now have a new book cover design. I hope my new cover will appeal to a younger audience.

I thought I’d test out my new cover here before I upload it on the e-book publishing sites. Tell me what you think in the comments below…

Here is the synopsis of my book:

Even as a child, Rachel had her whole life mapped out – study teaching, marry the perfect guy, have some kids and be a stay at home mum. With two different guys after her attention, Rachel must make a choice – will she choose rebellious single dad Nate or sensible youth leader Steven?

Meanwhile, Hannah is on top of the world, engaged to be married to the love of her life, until a chance encounter with someone from her past threatens to take away her happiness. Will her relationship survive when the secret she has been keeping for so many years is uncovered?

As these best friends lean on God and each other through different trials, they both experience God’s forgiveness and his provision of second chances.

Here is the existing cover…

Second Chances - A Novella

And here is my proposed new cover design…

Second Chances New V4

I’m still not sure whether to make the change…What do you think?

Signature2

 

8 thoughts on “Book Cover Makeover: Second Chances

  1. Yes, yes, yes! I love the prospective new cover and think it gives a much better idea of the book. I think the image also will be more eye-catching on the small thumbnails given when shopping for ebooks. I love it, Alison.

  2. Go for it! Although I still love your original, I think this should have wider appeal. One thing I love about Smashwords is the way you can update ad lib. I’ve just uploaded a fifth edition of my latest.

  3. Definitely make the change. I don’t think the cover speaks towards the title but if the girl on the cover resembles one of the main characters that is a definite plus. I love when a character is physically represented on the cover because then I can flip back to the picture as I read along and it helps me visualize and get more into the actual story.

  4. Oh my goodness, Alison, you’re good! Did all that by yourself?—even better! Definitely made my list of awesome cover designers. It’s a really lovely cover, but I haven’t read Second Chances yet, although I have it in my kindle, so I’m not sure how to interprete the picture- is it romance, women’s fiction or chic flick? Many readers are very visual in picking a book. It has to catch their attention first, before they even proceed to reading the blurb. The picture is very beautiful and catchy, but I’m not sure it conveys the genre (romance, chic flick, women’s fiction, new adult?), or gives the reader enough hint on what to expect at first glance (speaking based on my first reaction as a reader trying to make a decision). Also, you said you wanted it to appeal to a younger audience—New Adult (18-25yrs), maybe? The woman on the cover seems to convey the 25-35yr look, which is adult fiction. And, if you believe the second character isn’t a necessary addition to the cover afterall, then go for the single-character cover design … this is just one opinion!

  5. Thanks, Miranda. I actually purchased the cover, but cropped it and made some changes to the text and layout, so I can’t claim the credit. The book is a contemporary romance and the main characters are 22. I’m looking for another image for the other female character in the story and might try a combo book cover with the two women and post it here as well. Thanks for your feedback.

  6. I love the new cover your thanking about! The first one is cute and all but it makes it seem somewhat childish. Your new idea looks like it would draw attention from several readers who go by the covers on whether or not they want to read it. I say that the new cover is a good choice!

Leave a comment

