Interview with author Jim Hughes

I feel very blessed to interview Jim Hughes, who is the writer of ‘C Through Marriage’, a non-fiction Christian-living book.

Me: Hi, Jim. Thanks for being my first male interview. No pressure! To start us off, can you tell us a little about yourself and your family?Jim's picture for book

Jim: I am a retired pastor, having served the Lord mainly as a bi-vocational pastor over the past 40 years.  I have been married to my lovely wife for over 40 years.  We have two grown married children, a young teenager still at home, and two granddaughters whom we watch much of the time.  We are currently home-schooling our teenager as well.

Me: Wow, 40 years! I guess over that time you would have learnt a lot about marriage. Is that what inspired you to write your book ‘C Through Marriage’?

Jim: ‘C Through Marriage’ came into existence more by accident than on purpose.  I began writing down some thoughts on marriage gleaned from my own experiences as a pastor and husband mainly for my own benefit.  It literally took on a life all its own. I simply could not stop the process once I started.

Me: That’s great. It is clear from the reviews you have received that your book has encouraged many people. What kind of readers is your book for?

Jim: Anyone who is married, planning on getting married, or who has any kind of an outreach to the married.

Me: It sounds like it is relevant to most people. What do you think is the best thing about being an author?

Jim: The opportunity to do good in someone’s life through my writings.  I am amazed that the Lord allows me to do this. I have also been so blessed to connect with so many other like-minded authors whom I would have never connected with otherwise.

Me: I feel the same way – authors are a great bunch of people (and I’m not biased) ;). Can you tell us, what kind of books do you enjoy reading for yourself?

Jim: I enjoy reading books that stretch my faith and understanding of it.  I also am becoming a fan of well-written fiction books.  I have had the privilege of reviewing the works of many fellow authors over the past few years.  I am impressed by the creative writing skills of so many.

Me: Now for my last question: what piece of advice would you give to your teenage self?

Jim: Trust in the Lord without reservation or hesitation. Believe in who you are in Christ, not what others say you are. Work hard at developing your quiet time with the Lord in His Word and in prayer.  And, always strive to practice what you preach.

Me: Great advice. Thanks so much for joining my on my blog and may God bless you, and your family, and those who read your book.

Jim: Thank you so much for this opportunity.

Author bio:

Spending his formative years in Ft. Wayne, IN, Jim followed the love of his life to southeast Iowa where they married and have spent the majority of their lives.  Jim has pastored several churches throughout his life and has worked many years in local factories to help support his family.  The father of two married adult children and one son still at home, Jim is a first-time author.

Read more from Jim on his blog – http://cthroughmarriage.blogspot.com.au/

C Through Marriage is available on Amazon – click here -> C Through Marriage 

Leave a comment

