Interview with author Dayo Benson

I’ve been following the blog of Christian author Dayo Benson for some time now and I recently had the opportunity to interview her about the inspiration for her books and some other interesting things about her. I hope you enjoy getting to know her too. [Dayo also interviewed me on her blog, which you can read here -> click here]

dayobensonMe: Hi, Dayo. Thanks for joining me. First off, can you tell me how long have you been writing for?

Dayo: For about ten years, now. Time flies!

Me: I totally agree. Over that time I imagine there have been some highs and lows in your writing journey. What is your best experience as a writer, and what is your worst?

Dayo: My best experience as a writer has to be finishing a book. The sense of accomplishment is amazing. Hearing from readers is also great too. The worst thing is doing revisions. I don’t like reading my books over and over, but it’s necessary.

Me: I actually don’t mind the editing process, but it does get tedious after the twentieth time. How long does it generally take you to write one of your books?

Dayo: I’ve gotten faster the more I write. These days it takes on average about six weeks.

Me: Wow, that is very efficient. I imagine that keeps you very busy. I know from your blog that you are an avid reader. What kind of books you enjoy reading?

Dayo: I used to read just about anything, I’m more selective now. Maybe because I have less spare time and want to make sure I’m going to enjoy a book before I read it. My favourite authors (at the moment) are Denise Hunter and Dee Henderson, but it always changes.

Me: You have recently released a new book called ‘Lust‘. It doesn’t sound like a typical Christian fiction book. Can you tell us more about it?

Dayo: It’s not as racy as it sounds, ha ha. It’s about a woman who was abused as a child and engaged in all kinds of destructive behaviour as a coping mechanism. As an adult she struggles a lot with low self-esteem and other issues. The book starts with her as an adult and she has booked herself into a sexual healing retreat where she is hoping to find restoration.

It’s also a love story, and the hero in the book is all the things that a wounded woman needs. However, their relationship is not all smooth sailing and there are a few twists, but the overall message is that God heals and makes everything beautiful in the end.

Lust is book one in a series of standalone novels so my current work in progress is the next book in the series, which doesn’t have a title yet. It’s about a woman who is on the run from an abusive boyfriend and the organization that they both work for. While in hiding she runs into her first love.

Me: Your books sound very gritty and powerful. What kind of readers do you think would enjoy them?

Dayo: Some of my books fit into the New Adult category, some are Young Adult, and the series I’m currently writing is Women’s fiction, but I think that anybody who likes fast-paced plots and romance with an inspirational message would enjoy my books. I’ve even had a few guys tell me they read my books even though I write with a female audience in mind.

Me: That is very cool. A common question I’ve been asking on my blog is ‘what piece of advice would you give to your teenage self?’ What would be your answer?

Dayo: To stop seeing just the ‘here and now’ and start seeing the bigger picture of my life. It would have helped me to put a lot of things in perspective and make better decisions.

Me: That is wisdom I’m sure can be applied by women & men of all ages. Thanks so much for agreeing to this interview and I look forward to reading your future books.

Dayo: Thanks, Alison, for having me on your blog.

lustbookcover

Author bio:

Dayo Benson is passionate about using fiction to convey powerful messages about redemption and God’s love. She is the author of the inspirational Beauty for Ashes Series, Drew Ashley series, and standalone novel Prodigal. When she is not writing she enjoys music, reading and going for long walks. She lives in North West England with her husband and their two daughters.
Learn more about Dayo and her upcoming books at www.dayobenson.com. You can also connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Interview with author Dayo Benson

  1. I enjoyed the interview and I think that the book cover is outstanding. I too write inspirational fiction and I love it when authors of this genre push the envelope. In truth, the more I think about it, it’s not the envelope that is being pushed. It is the author writing about life as it is–as it has always been–using clean language.

    • I like it too. I admire inspirational authors who take risks tackling difficult topics head on. Thanks for stopping by my blog. If you’d like me to interview you on my blog, I’d be most happy to 🙂

Leave a comment

