Book review: ‘Grace Alive’ by Natasha House

I like to support other independent authors, and when Natasha House sent me the blurb for her Christian romance novel, ‘Grace Alive’, I knew I wanted to read this book.

From the back cover:

Meet Zoe Reed. She is 26, unmarried, and still living with her parents. She works at a lame craft store, where she feels like her life has become one giant disappointment. She’s waiting for Mr. Right, yet having never been on a date—let alone kissed a man—she wonders if he will ever come. When Branson Tate and his three kids stumble into her life, she finds the breathtaking man to be exactly opposite of what her parents want for her. He’s not a virgin, has a crazy past, and three children to prove it. Even still, the moment Branson asks her out for coffee, she hears God tell her to go, and her life begins to flip upside down.

My review:

I love it when I read a book that I keep thinking about afterwards. Grace Alive was one of those books.

Written from first person, the story is told from the perspective of 26 year old Zoe, who  is forced to re-think everything she has ever known about God after meeting single dad, Branson. Zoe, a pastor’s kid, has grown up believing that she must obey God (and her father) or be condemned to hell. As she gets to know Branson and finds out about his sordid past, she sees things in a new light and gathers the courage to really listen to God’s voice, even if it means displeasing her parents.

This story had plenty of drama, that’s for sure. Natasha has built her characters very well, including some I really loved to hate. Right from the start, I actually cared about what happened to Zoe, even though there were things about her I found a little odd, like the fact she was still so controlled by her parents at the age of 26.

The Christian content in the book was very uplifting, as indicated in the title of the book, but  some of the religious experiences that Zoe was involved with made me a little uncomfortable, eg being slain in the spirit. I’m not from a charismatic church and it isn’t something I believe the Bible teaches, although I’m sure there will be many opinions that differ from mine.

Natasha House has a very fresh, conversational writing style, that works well in the first person format. She tackles some tough topics including adultery and other sexual sins and the language of some of the characters is quite full-on. I wouldn’t recommend this book to younger teens for this reason.

Overall,  I enjoyed seeing Zoe’s journey of faith, from viewing God as a harsh judge to experiencing His love and grace, and ultimately following His path for her life.

Recommended for those who enjoy edgy inspirational romance books. I will look out for more books by Natasha House. Thanks, Natasha, for giving me a free copy of your book in exchange for my honest review.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

 

2 thoughts on “Book review: ‘Grace Alive’ by Natasha House

Leave a comment

