Petie McCarty: Interview and giveaway

McCarty_Petie_WebsiteImageToday I get to introduce you to a lovely lady and fellow Christian novelist Petie McCarty. Petie is an author with Desert Breeze Publishing and writes action-adventure love stories. She has recently released a new book, ‘No Going Back’, which is the first novel in her Rescue Angel Romances series. To find out how you can win an e-book copy of ‘No Going Back’, keep on reading…

Petie: Hi Alison! Thanks so much for having me in to visit with your Christian Fiction readers.

Me: It is a pleasure to have you here. Was writing always something you always wanted to do?

Petie: I know some authors talk about writing stories as a child or knowing from early school or college years they were destined to write. Such was not the case for me. I had never once considered writing until about ten years ago, when I decided – for a number of reasons – to look for a new job. Only this time, I decided to be smart and conduct my search the right way. I prayed and asked God to direct my search, knowing the right job would become available. Then I sat back to wait. This was the wisest choice I had ever made.

Instead of a new job appearing on the career network radar screen, a story popped in my head and refused to leave me alone until I had committed the entire tale to paper. The rest is happy history.

Me: It is great to hear how God answered your prayer and helped you find a new ‘job’. And a very rewarding one too. You have written a few books since then. Can you tell me where the inspiration comes from for your stories?

Petie: Oddly enough, the stories just pop in my head with little or no visual or tangible provocation. The stories are like movies that run in my head with setting, characters, and plot all thrown in. I know the movie will become the next book if the story arrives with the beginning, the middle and the all-important dénouement (finale).

Me: That is really cool! How long does it take you to transfer the stories from your mind into a fully formed book?

Petie: Bear in mind, I have a day job – luckily enough at “The Most Magical Place on Earth” – so my writing is restricted to nights and weekends. All my nights and weekends. My novels have taken as little as five months and as long as a year, variations being credited to the extent of research and editing required.

Me: You sound very busy! You must enjoy what you do. Which of the characters in your books was your favorite to write about and why?

Petie: My favorite character in my books has to be an amalgam of all my secondary or supporting characters as they add color and humor to my romances and are the most fun to write. Though I loved creating them all, my novel ‘Catch of the Day” – set in the town of Loon, Alabama – has the most eclectic and giggle-as-I-wrote group of supporting characters. Wouldn’t you expect that in a town named Loon?

Me: You recently released your latest novel, ‘No Going Back’. Can you us about it?

Petie: My April release, ‘No Going Back’, and my upcoming December release, ‘Angel to the Rescue’, are the first of the Rescue Angel Romances – action/adventure love stories with an angel hidden in the plot. The angel’s identity is not revealed until the finale – unless you figure it out first. ‘No Going Back’ is a 2014 EPIC eBook Award Finalist in the category of Contemporary Romance. [EPIC is the Electronic Publishing Industry Coalition at http://www.epicorg.com]

NoGoingBackCoverArt with EPIC Emblem 72dpiIn ‘No Going Back’, Kellen Brand’s inheritance turns out to be a whopper – one dilapidated farm in West Virginia and one guardian angel! Since Kellen is convinced no sane woman would choose to live in Riverside, she vows to sell her farm and quick. Her handsome and reclusive neighbor Luke Kenyon must block the farm sale or risk exposure of his family’s secrets. While Kellen has located one potential buyer, she faces a town full of objectors. Someone is trying to frighten her off, and Luke is forced to step in and rescue her more than once. Unfortunately, Kellen can’t seem to stay out of trouble. She stumbles onto a clandestine hazardous-waste-dumping operation next to her farm, and she prays Luke has one more rescue up his sleeve. It’s her only hope of staying alive. Unless her mother really did leave her a guardian angel…

 

AngelToTheRescueCoverArt72dpiThe second Rescue Angel Romance – ‘Angel to the Rescue’ – is the most difficult storyline I’ve tackled yet, and my content editor said it turned out to be a Wow! In ‘Angel to the Rescue’, child psychologist Rachel Kelly isn’t quite sure how to handle her newest client – a six-year-old boy who says he can talk to angels and one is coming to help Rachel. She already has her hands full of trouble this Christmas season, and things quickly take a turn for the worse when a stalker crashes Rachel’s Christmas party and takes her young clients hostage.

Police negotiator, Lt. Jake Dillon, walked away from his fiancée Rachel when she suddenly balked at having kids. His kids. Yet as the hostage crisis erupts, Rachel calls Jake first. Now he has a choice to make — stand back and wait for the cavalry to save Rachel or step in quickly and try to save her himself. Time is running out, and Jake may be their only chance for rescue. Unless Rachel’s little angel-spying client is telling the truth…

Me: What kind of readers do you think would enjoy your books?

Petie: My brand is “PG-13 romance, safe enough for the kids”. My action/adventure love stories are routinely placed under one genre – sweet contemporary romance. Ironically, sweet always makes me think of holding hands and sweet tender kisses, yet my stories are far from that scenario. Therein lies the PG-13 rating rather than a G rating. An author can imbibe that flushed, heart-racing excitement in a reader over a gripping love scene and stop short of sex. As my straight-laced brother-in-law has said, “Those stories have got some heat!” 🙂 (One can’t have enough brothers-in-law willing to try their romance novels). If the story can leave readers sensually satisfied without sex scenes, the market for that story broadens to encompass all genres of romance readers rather than one end of the scale.  Try one of my stories and see what I mean.

Me: One question I like to ask my guest authors is ‘what one piece of advice would you give to your teenage self?’

Petie: Pray for the small stuff. Start early. So many people in this world (I talk to them all the time) ‘save’ God for important things, life-changing things like cancer, hurricanes, tornados, broken marriages, death. I’ve actually had people say, “You’re not supposed to,” when I tell them to pray for the small stuff.

God doesn’t want to be relegated to the sidelines. He wants to be there for all the small stuff, too – a tether ball game on Saturday, no rain for the parade, too tight a work schedule on Monday, fish biting, extra no-reason hugs from a spouse, a tough math test. How would you feel as a parent if your child only came to you for the ‘really big stuff’ and fought through everything else in life on their own?

I admit that as a teen, I saved God for the big stuff, and I’m sorry now that I did. I learned too late in life to lean on God for everything – for therein lies peace. I can’t tell you how many small things I’ve prayed for help with, and God always came through. St. Paul in his letter to the Philippians said, “Pray about everything…” He knew what he was talking about. Life is sooo much easier that way. The kicker is… if you ask God for something, you have to count on Him to come through. He will, but on his own timetable. Count on it.

Me: Thanks again for joining me today, Petie. It has been wonderful to get to know you.

Petie: Thank you, Alison, for allowing me to spend time today with the Christian Fiction readers! If ya’ll find time to read these holidays, please give one of my books a try and stop by my website – http://www.petiemccarty.com – to check out new excerpts from my stories. Or visit me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/petie.mccarty.

Petie is giving away a free ebook copy of her book ‘No Going Back’ – to  enter the giveaway, post a comment below answering the following question: ‘If you had the time, skills, and desire to write a book, what would you write about?’

The winner will be picked at random on 23 November 2013 and will be announced on my blog, Twitter ( http://twitter.com/alisonwrites) and Facebook  (www.facebook.com/AlisonStanleyChristianFiction) – make sure you follow me so you don’t miss out on finding out if you are the winner!

To purchase a copy of Petie’s books from Amazon, click on the links below.

God bless,

Signature2

4 thoughts on “Petie McCarty: Interview and giveaway

  1. Thank-you for the interview. I have not had the pleasure of reading a book by Petie McCarty yet but now will do so! (Love the way she spells her first name!) If I had the time (and the energy), I would write a historical romance story taking place on Tybee Island (just off the coast of Savannah). Thanks for sharing!!

  2. Thank you, Alison, for the interview. I always enjoy reading the interviews you conduct with other authors. If I had the skills to write a novel, I would write one about an adult daughter realizing what she thought was true about her mother’s “abandonment” was actually her mother’s sacrifice to protect her.

Leave a comment

