Alana Terry: Interview and giveaway

Alana Terry picI feel privileged to be hosting award-winning suspense novelist Alana Terry on my blog today to talk about her new book, ‘The Beloved Daughter’, which has recently been released on Amazon as an audiobook.

Here is a synopsis:

In a small North Korean village, a young girl struggles to survive. It is her father’s faith, not the famine of North Hamyong Province, that most threatens Chung-Cha’s well-being. ‘The Beloved Daughter’ follows Chung-Cha into one of the most notorious prison camps the contemporary free world has known. Her crime? Being the daughter of a Christian. ‘The Beloved Daughter’ is Alana Terry’s debut Christian novel.

I asked Alana a few questions about herself…

Me: What inspired you to write this story?

Alana: I have always felt passionate about suffering and persecution, ever since I was a teenager really. I ended up writing a book about religious persecution, which was no surprise to anyone who knew me. I set the story in North Korea because that’s one of the most dangerous places for actively-religious people to live, and a country I’ve had a real prayer burden about for years.

Me: Your book sounds fascinating. Have you visited any of the places described in your story?

Alana: ‘The Beloved Daughter’ is set in North Korea, with some of the action carrying the protagonist to China and South Korea as well. Unfortunately, with my kids being as young as they are, traveling to these locations hasn’t been an option.
Perhaps in the future!

Me: I totally understand that. I’ve read a few reviews of your book from people saying that your book seems so real it is hard to believe it is fiction. It is different to the usual types of books I feature on my blog. What kind of readers do you think would enjoy reading it?

Alana: The Beloved Daughter’ seems to do well with three specific niche groups. Suspense readers really enjoy the twists and plot turns, and there truly are several surprises along the way. Historical readers always seem to enjoy reading books that teach them about new cultures and historical periods. Although the events in ‘The Beloved Daughter’ are contemporary, the book reads much like a historical fiction novel. In two or three decades, I hope it will be read as such! The book also appeals to Christian readers because it is the protagonist’s faith that ends up sending her to prison camp in the very beginning.

Me: I look forward to reading it and posting a review on my blog in the near future. You are running a giveaway for the next two weeks – can you tell me more about it?

Alana: To celebrate my new book, I’m giving away an $100 Amazon or target gift card and other great prizes. To visit my giveaway site, click here.

Thanks, Alana. If you would like to purchase a copy of Alana’s book, click on the following links:

  • AUDIOBOOK  (narrated by Kathy Garver, a four-time Audie award winner and Lifetime Achievement Award recipient from the Motion Picture Council)
  • PAPERBACK
  • EBOOK

Alana Terry book cover

Have you already read this book? What did you enjoy about it?

God bless,

Signature2

 

3 thoughts on “Alana Terry: Interview and giveaway

  1. This sounds like an excellent book! About a year ago I read “Safely Home” by Randy Alcorn. It is a fictional story about the persecuted church in China. I did not think I would like it, but I was pulled in from the beginning and found it to be a life-changing book. It was very well researched and really brought home the fate of Christians in closed countries. This sounds very good, as well. Will have to add it to my reading list – which just keeps growing! 🙂

Leave a comment

