Book Review: ‘Gentleman of Her Dreams (a novella)’ by Jen Turano

Synopsis: When Miss Charlotte Wilson asks God for a husband, she decides He must want her to pursue Mr. Hamilton Beckett, the catch of the season. The only problem? She’s never actually met Hamilton. Fortunately, one of her oldest and dearest friends, Mr. Henry St. James–who has returned to New York after a two-year absence–does know Hamilton. Much to Henry’s chagrin, Charlotte immediately ropes him into helping her meet Hamilton. However, none of her plans to catch Hamilton’s eye go as she expected, and she is even more confused when her old feelings for Henry begin to resurrect themselves. In the midst of the mayhem Charlotte always seems to cause, she wonders if the gentleman of her dreams might be an entirely different man than she thought.

*****

My review: This book is a prequel to Jen Turano’s ‘Ladies of Distinction’ series. It is the first book I’ve read by Jen Turano and I’ve already downloaded her next book to read. I fell in love with this charming story almost instantly when I was introduced to Charlotte, a woman in her twenties who is determined not to be a spinster. Charlotte had me laughing out loud many times (including on the train – how embarrassing!) with the incredible lengths she went to in order to get her man, such as chartering an unseaworthy vessel so she could then be rescued. Seeing things from Henry’s perspective was also fun – his disbelief at Charlotte’s antics was one of the highlights of the book. He had a lot of admirable qualities and it was easy to see why Charlotte would have feelings for him, although why he would be interested in Charlotte is still a mystery to me!

The Christian content in this book is fairly minimal – God is mentioned a few times, but you don’t get the sense that any of the characters have a strong faith. The book is squeaky clean, however, and probably something teens and young adults would enjoy as a foray into historical romance.
Overall, it was a fun book to read and I’m excited to read other books in this series.
*****
My rating: 4 out of 5 stars
4 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘Gentleman of Her Dreams (a novella)’ by Jen Turano

    • Oh good, I’m glad to hear that. I think Jen Turano is certainly an author to watch. I really hope you enjoy my book – It is very close to my heart and hopefully that comes through as you read it.

  1. Jen Turano definately has a way of making you laugh!! I know exactly what you mean. As soon as I started laughing, I found it hard to stop! I have also read A Most Peculiar Circumstance, and it just gets better!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

Leave a comment

