Book Review: ‘The Miner’s Lady’ by Tracie Peterson

Synopsis: When Chantel Panetta’s younger sister claims to be in love with Orlando Calarco, Chantel knows there is no hope. The Panettas and Calarcos have been sworn enemies for decades, and young love cannot heal the deep wounds between the two iron-mining families. Yet, unable to resist Isabella’s pleas, Chantel agrees to help her sister spend time with Orlando…only to have a run-in with Dante, Orlando’s brother.
Chantel can’t deny the attraction that flares when she’s with Dante. But when a tragedy occurs at the mine, is there any hope that the hatred that has simmered between these two families might be resolved? Or will Chantel and Isabella’s hope for love be buried amidst decades of misunderstanding?


*****
My review: I received a free copy of this book via Bethany House publishing and NetGalley. I have read a previous series by Tracie Peterson and thought it was very romantic, so I looked forward to snuggling up on the lounge with my iPod to read this book. It took me only a few nights to read.
The story begins with Chantel Panetta returning from Italy after a year with her grandparents, only to find her younger sister has fallen in love with a Calarco – a sworn enemy of the Panetta family. The relationship between the Panettas and Capulets is reminiscent of the Montagues and Capulets from Romeo and Juliet.
The story hooked me in right away. The mining town backdrop was different to other historical romances (I’m a bit tired of sheriffs and wagon trains now) and there was a foreboding sense of danger with the hazards associated with mining and a particularly shady character who threatens Chantel’s family. I thought Tracie did a great job building up the suspense.
The book was also very romantic – two romances for the price of one – and while I knew how things would end, I enjoyed watching it unfold. The book had a strong theme of forgiveness and leaving things to God, which I also liked.
There were a few interesting twists and turns in the story, and some tragedy too, but I’m pleased to say there was plenty of happily ever after as well (unlike Romeo and Juliet!)
I recommend this book for readers who enjoy romantic Christian historical suspense novels.
My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
*****
3 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘The Miner’s Lady’ by Tracie Peterson

Leave a comment

