Book Review: ‘Respectable Sins’ by Jerry Bridges

A few months ago, I wrote about my spiritual wake-up call. I set some goals for myself to read the Bible regularly and to read one Christian living / theology book each month. So, what happened with that?…

Well, my plan went well for the first couple of weeks, but after the initial burst of motivation faded away, I did not stick to the plan exactly. However, I am reading the Bible much more often than before and I have finished reading ‘Respectable Sins‘ – it just took me a couple of months longer than I expected. Here is my review.

From the back cover: Have Christians become so preoccupied with the major sins of our society that we have lost sight of our need to deal with our own more subtle sins?

Jerry Bridges returns to his trademark theme of holiness and addresses a dozen clusters of specific “acceptable” sins that we tend to tolerate in ourselves – such as jealousy, anger, pride, unthankfulness, and judgmentalism.
Jerry writes not from a height of spiritual accomplishment but from the trenches of his own battles with sin. In his admonitions, Jerry offers a message of hope in the profound mercy of the gospel and the transforming grace of God as the means to overcoming our subtle sins.

About the author: Dr. Jerry Bridges is the best-selling author of such books as The Pursuit of Holiness , Trusting God , and The Practice of Godliness . Jerry is on staff with The Navigators’ collegiate ministry. A popular speaker known around the world, Jerry lives with his wife, Jane, in Colorado Springs.

*****
My review: This is a great book for all Christians – whether you are struggling with sin, or think that you’ve got sin under control. I found this book was like holding up a mirror to myself. In his conversational style, Jerry introduces passages from the Bible and gives examples of the more subtle ways in which sin is expressed in the lives of Christians.
I read about one chapter a week, which gave me a chance to reflect on and pray about what I was learning. Because it is such a practical book, it resonated with situations / conversations I found myself in that week, and I felt equipped to tackle these sins head on. It was such an easy book to read and Jerry used many examples from his own life, that kept me interested and helped tie it all together.
One thought on “Book Review: ‘Respectable Sins’ by Jerry Bridges

  1. I’ve just started reading Jerry’s book, The Pursuit of Holiness. He is an excellent writer. Think I’ll have to read this one next. Thanks for the review Alison.

Leave a comment

