Book review: Finally and Forever by Robin Jones Gunn (Book #4 in the Katie Weldon series)

I have a confession. I’m a fan of the Christy Miller series. From the time I first found the series in our church library as a teenager, I was hooked. For years have watched the unfolding love story between Christy and Todd and watched them mature and grow in godliness.

Katie Weldon (the subject of this book) is Christy Miller’s best friend, so I have known her for some time thanks to Robin Jones Gunn. She is a feisty red-head with a great sense of humour and a huge heart for God.

Book 4 in the Katie Weldon series follows Katie to Africa where she works at the mission where her boyfriend Eli lives. While I wasn’t too much of a fan of Eli before this book, I really got to see a new side of his character in Africa, and so does Katie!

I really enjoyed this book. Having never been to Africa, the book introduced me to a world where wild animals roam free and where God seems more near. The descriptions of the African village were so eye-opening and it made me feel so grateful for the conveniences we have here in Australia, like clean, fresh water straight from the tap. My sponsor child lives in Kenya, so it gave me an insight into what life is like for her, particularly the community life.

What I also liked about this book was the strong connection between Katie and Eli – almost electric at times. It brought back memories for me of falling in love with my husband. The spiritual content of this book is also wonderful, as Katie learns to put her trust in God and not be afraid.

The only negative thing I can say about this book is the cover design – I much preferred the design of the previous books in the series. The poor girl on this cover looks photoshopped to within an inch of her life. But please don’t judge this book by its cover.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Leave a comment

