Living out my dreams through my characters

I’m not sure if other writers can attest to this, but one of the things I like about writing is that I can live out some of my dreams that would never otherwise be realised. For instance, I love watching renovation shows on TV. I just love the transformations.I think it would be so cool to buy an old run-down cottage and bring it back to life again, but there is no way I’d ever do it. First of all, I’d need the money to buy it in the first place, then I’d need extra money to buy all the new materials & furnishings, and I’d also lack the time I needed to do it up. It would be a long, laborious process and you wouldn’t see the final product for quite some time.

(I’ve posted some pictures below showing one of my home renovation projects)

Image

Before


Image

After

In my new novel, the main character Alana is a young, up-and-coming interior designer living on the Gold Coast in Queensland. In her spare time, she travels home to her hometown in country New South Wales where she spends every spare cent renovating an old cottage. Some may think it is sad, but I enjoy living out my renovating dream through Alana – there is no need to get my hands dirty, no financial outlay and no stress. Alana can do all the work for me!

I still have quite a lot of Alana’s story to write, but its all coming together. I look forward to sharing more with you in the coming weeks 🙂

3 thoughts on “Living out my dreams through my characters

  1. I don’t think it’s sad at all. Looking forward to reading your next novel. PS nice work with the kitchen 🙂

Leave a comment

