My top 10 favourite Christian romance books

About 10 years ago, I read my first Christian romance novel. I was staying with my aunty, uncle and cousins in north QLD and picked it randomly off the bookshelf. I loved it, and quickly read through the whole series during my two week stay, sometimes staying awake into the early hours of the morning. Over the years, there are some books that have touched my heart – not just because of the wonderful love stories – but because of the way they point back to God as the one who gives true love and everlasting satisfaction.

Here is a list of my top 10 Christian novels/series (in no particular order).

#1 Love Comes Softly Series by Janette Oke (this is the series I mentioned above). This has also been made into a DVD series, but the books are better.

#2 Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers – a wonderful story of God’s forgiveness. This one made me cry. Note: contains some adult themes, so I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone under 18 years of age.

#3 Sophie’s Heart by Lori Wick – a story of a family who go through immense tragedy, but learn to love again thanks to a woman named Sophie.

#4 Pretense by Lori Wick – a story of two sisters who go through various tragedies and triumphs, their journey with God and each other.

#5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Christy Miller series by Robin Jones Gunn – great for teenagers and young adults. It follows Christy Miller as an awkward teenager transform into a godly young woman. I started reading this series in my late teens and still read it from time to time. There are a range of books that follow the adventures of Christy and her friends: Sierra Jensen series, Christy and Todd: The College Years, Katie Weldon series and Love Finds You at Sunset Beach.

#10 Fountain Creek Chronicles by Tamera Alexander – I found the first book in this series in our local library and went and bought the rest of the series right away. Three heartwarming historical romance novels.

#11 (had to add just one more!) Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers – a historical novel set in the period just after Christ’s death and resurrection, follows the story of slave girl Hadassah. I am not much of a history buff, and I nearly gave up on this book after the first chapter. But thankfully I was encouraged by a friend to persevere and I am so glad I did. A wonderful story of a young woman’s faith in the face of extreme adversity.

Have you got any favourites you can add to my list? Please leave a comment below 🙂

17 thoughts on “My top 10 favourite Christian romance books

  1. I LOVE Redeeming Love. I enjoy books that make me FEEL. Cry, be afraid, even have nightmares. That book was one of them.

  2. So glad you also loved Sophie’s Heart. That was one of my very first Christian favorites, I bought it in hardback from a Christian book club way back when and have probably lent it out more than any other book. Also, Redeeming Love was very good, have you ever read Francine Rivers’ novel “The Last Sin Eater?” It is soooooo good!! But it is written in the dialect of the people living in the Appalachian Mountains during the late 1800’s, so it can be a bit difficult to understand the dialogue in some parts. Like they call a panther a “painter”. There was also a movie made from the book and I have to say it is one of the best movies from a book that I’ve ever seen. One of my most favorite books of recent reading is “Wonderland Creek” by Lynn Austin. I just love, love, love that book. It will definitely make you laugh, and there is great character development. Lynn Austin is a phenomenal author. Thanks for your list. There were a few on here I’ve never heard of, so something to add to my own need-to-read list!

    • Thanks for the tip about Lynn Austin – it is always good to hear about talented Christian authors. I’ll have to take a look at her book. I haven’t read ‘The Last Sin Eater’, but I’ve just about read every other Francine Rivers book. I look forward to reading your blog to find out about more good books 🙂

      • Did you read Francine Rivers’ “The Atonement Child?” If so, what did you think of it? She writes about some very deep and heavy subjects. Thank you for stopping by my blog! I am just starting to do a few book reviews and don’t really know if I’m doing them correctly, but I love to share with others what I’m reading and when I really enjoy a book. God bless you in your own writing endeavors!

      • I haven’t read ‘The Atonement Child’ – I’ve looked a the jacket a few times in the bookstore, but I didn’t think I’d like it – I’m not a fan of books with too much conflict or injustice.
        I don’t think there are any rules when it comes to writing book reviews – apart from just being honest. I look forward to reading more of your reviews 🙂

  3. Love this post! Do you notice a pattern with the authors? They deal with very deep matters that touch the soul. Haven’t read all on this list but will definitely look out for them.

    Atonement Child is a really good book. Deals with the issue of abortion in a unique way. I’m sure you won’t be disappointed because the heroine rises at the end in a marvelous way. Definitely put a smile on my face!

  4. I completely agree – the Love Comes Softly books are SO much better!! The first couple are alright, however I believe it doesn’t make the books justice, which had such sweet and loving characters!!

  5. Thanks for the list! There are a couple here I haven’t read yet. Will have to remedy that. 😉

    Have you ever read any of Becky Riker’s books? She’s not very famous, but I’ve loved every book of hers that I’ve read so far. Also, Kristen Heitzmann’s Michelli Family series is definitely worth a look.

  6. You must read Jan Watson’s book series! They are my favorite. She can’t write them fast enough for me. The latest one is Buttermilk Sky, but you have to start at the beginning.

Leave a comment

