Interview with author Joi Copeland

Today I am privileged to introduce you to one of my new favourite Christian authors, Joi Copeland.

joi copeland pictureMe: Hi Joi. First of all, can you tell me how you came to be a writer?

Joi: Since I was little, I’ve always loved writing. I can remember writing stories when I was in 4th grade and then it carried over to writing for my junior high newspaper.

I wrote short stories in high school/college, but then, one night after my sister, brother-in-law and husband told me I needed to write a novel, I woke up the next morning with my first one dancing in my head.

Me: You have written a few books since then. Where does the inspiration for your stories come from?

Joi: Mostly from the Lord. I ask what I should write about, and then the ideas come. There are times when someone will tell me something and I will pray about whether or not I should write about it.

Me: Out of all the characters you have read or written about, who would have to be your favourite?

Joi: There are so many characters! I really enjoyed writing about Rayne and Justin. But when I read other people’s stories, I get so caught up in the stories. I love/hate some characters. I’m really enjoying Lisa T. Bergren.

Me: I loved reading about Rayne and Justin in your book, Christmas Rayne, and thanks for the tip about Lisa T. Bergren – I’ll have to check out some of her books. Could you us tell more about Christmas Rayne and any other books you’ve been working on recently?

Joi: You bet! Christmas Rayne was just released in December 2012. It’s about a girl who comes face to face with the past. She struggles with what happened and learns how to deal with it. My second novella, Sheriff’s Bride, Rob’s Story, has also just been released. It’s the fourth book in a series about four sisters who are sheriff in the town of Waterhole.

Me: That sounds like a lot of fun! I really enjoyed Christmas Rayne and I look forward to reading Rob’s story. Okay, now for my final question… If you had five dollars to spend on just yourself, what would you buy?

Joi: Probably a venti non-fat decaf peppermint mocha, extra hot with one shot and no whipped cream :)  Then, I’d take my laptop and write, write, write!

Me: Ha ha, whenever I ask that question the answer has generally got something to do with coffee or chocolate ;) Thanks so much for telling us about yourself, Joi.

Joi: Thanks for having me! It’s been a pleasure!

If would like to check out any of Joi’s books, you can find them on Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

christmas rayne coverrobcover

Leave a comment

